Winter fun

Merry Christmas everyone!

This blog post was supposed to go up before Christmas, but with all that Christmas fuss I completely forgot to post it. But I guess this would make good post Christmas activities as well.

I had so much things to do this month, I had no extra time on my hands and if I did I felt exhausted. So the weekend before Christmas I took few days off at work and made Christmas time feel like Christmas time!

I felt so sad that time is slipping and I didn’t even felt the Christmas spirit. So I decided to change that.

First of all Christmas without gingerbread smell is just weird. I made loads of gingerbread cookies. Some I hang on the Christmas tree later. I never decorated gingerbread cookies before. I usually just sprinkle them with icing sugar, but this time I made icing and let my little sister to decorate. It was so much fun baking and singing along to my favorite Christmas songs.

If you want to try these cookies here’s the recipe:

You will need:

  • 115 g. unsweetened butter
  • 60 g. caster sugar
  • 160 g. honey or molasses (I used honey)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ground clove
  • 2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp.ground muscat
  • 375 g. self raising flour

img_1823good

  1. Beat sugar with butter add egg and mix well.
  2. Add honey, all the spices (cinnamon, ginger,muscat, clove) and baking soda.
  3. Little by little add flour and mix well. You should end up with stiff dough. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and let it chill in the refrigerator at least for 1 hour.
  4. Roll out dough on floured surface into about 5 mm. thick and cut with cookie cutters.
  5. Lie your cookies on grease proof paper and bake at 175°C for about 7 minutes.
  6. Let it chill and then decorate.

For royal icing I mixed 400 g. of icing sugar with 15 g. of egg replacer and 4 tbsp water.

Christmas tree always been the biggest symbol in our house. It’s the place where we all gather in Christmas morning wearing pajamas while opening the presents, we have so much fun decorating it as well. And it just doesn’t feel the same without Christmas tree. So we went for Christmas tree hunting and found almost perfect Christmas tree. The only problem was that we bought not enough decorations, so we decided to hang some of the cookies and candy canes.

img_1954good

 

What I love about Christmas is Christmas movies and music. But we can’t just watch movie without hot chocolate! So I made probably the best Christmas drink ever. For 2 cups of hot chocolate you will need:

  • 360 ml. milk
  • 120 ml. heavy cream
  • 100 g. dark chocolate
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of ground cayenne pepper

I added everything except corn starch into pan and heated on medium heat until chocolate was melted and milk started to steam. Then I added corn starch, mixed for a bit. In separate bowl I whipped extra heavy cream. Then I added some clementines in the cup and poured hot chocolate, I topped it off with whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles. That whipped cream melted so quickly! I Couldn’t take a proper picture. But the drink was very nice. I like that it’s sweet but has spicy aftertaste from peppers.

 

Then we watched Christmas movie with my sisters. Few of my favorites Christmas movies are How the Grinch stole Christmas, Elf, Love actually and all time favorite Home Alone. What is your favorite Christmas movie? I need to add something new to my watch-list next year 🙂

dd

By the time movie ended I was hungry (what a surprise). And for everyone who knows me well enough knows how addicted to pizza I am. So I cooked pizza while watching vlogmas and some of my favorite Christmas specials and for dessert I had vegan ice cream.

IMG_1936GOOD.jpg

I love days like this when I spoil myself and when I’m surrounded by good emotions. I don’t do this a lot. Well, except pizza, because I eat pizza often. 🙂

What is your rituals to feel more festive?  How was your Christmas? Do you have any traditions? Leave a comment 🙂

D. xx

 

22 thoughts on “Winter fun

  1. http://www.salpa58.wordpress.com says:

    Great post. I put my tree up Thanksgiving night, listen to Christmas music starting in Nov.. Watch the Hallmark channels that show Christmas stories. Tell Christmas stories to my grandchildren. I attend their pageants. Try to donate to the less fortunate, although I do that year round but at Christmas I usually donate a little more. I am retired so I have more time to dedicate to the things that make me happy. I bake but not gingerbread, it is mostly Italian cookies, cakes, etc.. We sing Happy Birthday to baby Jesus. Spread the joy!

    Like

  2. B says:

    I felt a similar way this year- Christmas kind of crept on me and I really had to force myself to get into the Christmas spirit in order to get everything done. It sounds like everything came together for you and your family. I’m glad you had such a wonderful holiday. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I’m excited to read more of yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lovejennyxo says:

    Awesome festive post. Holidays definitely get so busy so it’s hard to squeeze everything you want to do it (blogging especially). Glad you found time to though because I love this little cookie recipe! I plan on making some this weekend and I love trying out new recipes, so thank you for this! 🙂

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Barbara says:

    A lovely post, and thank you for the recipes. I also watched the Grinch Who Stole Christmas, just to reassure myself that I wasn’t him! Not much Christmas spirit for me either, kind of glad it is done. BUT I am looking forward to a fresh new year.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bethealfelsia says:

    Hai. Nice post. I like it. Superb. Your Christmas celebration is wonderful. I am amazed that you prepare so many things for the celebration. We to celebrate Christmas eve in nice way . Thanks for visiting my site. If you like my post I want you to leave your comment please. Thank you. Happy blessed year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

