School spirit

Hello lovely people

I’ve been thinking lately about something and I want to share with you and of course hear out your opinion. Few years ago I’ve been to fortune teller. I’ve always been (and I am right now) skeptical about things like this but I’m not gonna lie, I’ve been very curious, I tried to spot the flaws in her little speech, and catch moments where she fucks up and tells something what really doesn’t fit me. Strangely she said everything about my past or present very accurately that’s why I’ve been kinda surprised. I even recorded our conversation so I could listen later. And I did. And one thing really caught my ear. She constantly kept repeating that if I won’t go to university I won’t be interesting, especially in the eyes of men. She said that men is not interested in deeper connection with woman if she doesn’t have a degree. And that sounded like her opinion not fact that’s why I really hated that visit to her.

Is education really that important in social/love life? I mean if I sit around people who has a degree I should feel worse than everyone? Or if I’m on a date with person who has a degree I should feel less valuable? Do people look at me differently?

I think education is great, and I actually envy people who has passion and are lucky enough to study what they love. But for me it’s different. I’m 23 and I still have no damn idea what would make me feel genuinely happy to study. I don’t feel like I could study anything just for a degree. That’s why I choose not to study.

But is it really makes me worse companion? A worse date?

I really believe that people are more than what they learn in university in those few years. I don’t think you can be defined as smart or stupid, interesting or not interesting just by the diploma.

What do you think? Leave a comment *wink wink wink*

D.

19 thoughts on “School spirit

  1. Lolsy's Library says:

    I’ve been to a couple of fortune tellers/physic and some are good, some are not. One I went too in my early twenties and she told me that I wouldn’t be having children till my 30’s and I thought “No Way” 30 was ages away, and now I’m in my 30’s with no children. However, I really do think what your fortune teller said sounded more like an opinion. Having a degree does not guarantee that you’ll be an interesting person.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    Judging people based on their level of education is a bad way to assess character. Having a piece of paper that says you are good at something has no value, unless you make some use of that education, and develop yourself as a person too.
    Thanks for following my blog. It is much appreciated.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

  3. raistlin0903 says:

    Really, what does having a degree or any kind of education say about you as a person? Pretty much nothing. It has absolutely nothing to do with how your personality is formed, or how people look at you. It all comes down to one thing, and that is pretty much how someone else feels and thinks. If you are really narrow minded and only judge people by whether or not they have a degree or not, you might miss out on some of the most wonderful people that this world has to offer. So honestly, I could not care less about where someone comes from, or whether or not she has studied or not. I never judge people…..and nor should you ever let people influence you in any way what you yourself want to do.
    Be strong, and just keep on doing what you yourself would like to do: that is what defines you as a person. And if someone doesn’t like you for that, tough break for them: it probably wasn’t worth it in the first place 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. writerinsoul says:

    Okay, this is a stretch and I wouldn’t necessarily agree with it but is it possible that she meant that women who want to be taken seriously should develop their intellect? I have a degree but rarely mention it because I want to be evaluated on the basis of what I *say* and how I act. I’ve noticed that when someone says they have a Ph.D (which I don’t) *other* people start treating them differently as if they are better and their words count for more. Education does affect how people are treated and perceived, rightly or wrongly. It affects income, social status, many things in society.

    Like

  5. R. J. Nello says:

    As a former university lecturer, let me say this: If you are not interested in uni (and you are now 23) do not waste your time and money. 📚

    And if you find you feel you have to defend your lack of a university education on your first date, uh, I would say the person may not be right for you. You don’t need a degree to find relationship happiness.

    Follow the life path that interests you. You may think nothing interests you, but I’m sure there are things that do. Once you find that path, you will run into people much like yourself. And relationships will follow naturally.

    Good luck!😊

    Liked by 2 people

  6. westernflicker says:

    There are many life paths. College is expensive, so choosing to go because you want to be interesting as a person is probably not enough of a reason.

    Better way to gauge how interesting you are — Would you want to meet you? Don’t let somebody else set the standard for your self-worth.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Terry Lewis says:

    I think it depends on the individual. Some men are attracted to intelligent women who can articulate their point of view. Others aren’t. One thing is for sure – there is no way that you are a lesser person if you don’t go to uni. And the worst thing for you to do would be to go to uni just so a guy will like you. There is much more to you, and anyone else, than your brain or your knowledge. If you decide to go to uni, make sure it’s because you want to for yourself.

    Like

  8. Roy McCarthy says:

    Do you really want your life to be governed by how men think of you? Any man (or anybody) who is in any way worthwhile will accept you for who you are. The world has moved on. Go ahead, do whatever you want to do with your life, what will bring you happiness and fulfilment. Do it for yourself, no one else.

    Like

  9. houstonphotojourney says:

    Well, I’m 52 so you have a perspective oh where I’m coming from (now try not to judge based on my age) 🙂I think having a degree will help you in the employment world as these days it seems somewhat of a screening process to even get a job interview so it would help in that arena. However, if a potential mate hinges on your educational background – dump ’em! While gaining a degree can be a sign of drive and determination in life so can being a struggling artist, a volunteer with a place you believe in, dedication to reach whatever dreams you have in life and so forth. Sounds like she was just inflicting her own words 🙂. At 23 all I cared about was being the best working mom I could be and all I can tell you is I’ve never regretted that!!

    Like

  10. Lilly Moore says:

    I don’t think I’d ever go to a fortune teller-I think that if people believe what a fortune teller says, they will keep that in their minds and subconsciously end up doing exactly what she told them would happen.
    But I don’t think the degree thing is true. I know plenty of women who don’t have a degree and still got married 🙂

    Like

  11. lorraineambers says:

    I own two successful businesses & I’m working towards my goals as an author. I didn’t learn these things from education, in fact the opposite is true. My success comes from my past failings, not what degree I do or do not have.
    Keep doing what your doing & follow your heart. You’ll get there eventually. Life isn’t a race.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. darkanddominant says:

    The woman sounds like a hag. OR: She’s right and the men she’s referring to are just boring men themselves.

    Don’t let it get to you. There’s more to any woman then her education.

    Like

  13. Russel Ray Photos says:

    Getting an education forces you to do things that you otherwise might not do, and I think that’s good. It gives you a well-rounded sense of life in determining how you interact with other people, especially those who you might disagree with. Here in the United States, the lack of education amongst half the population is telling in how they act, how they interact with other people, and what they believe.

    Like

Leave a comment

